Four Join NET Foundations’ Board of Directors; Officers Elected

News Release Date: 
July 3, 2013

For Immediate Release

Four Join NET Foundations’ Board of Directors; Officers Elected

LINCOLN, Neb.  (July 3, 2013) -- Four Nebraskans have been elected to the combined board of the NET Foundation for Radio and Foundation for Television. They are Nicholas Baxter, Omaha; Lucy Buntain Comine, Lincoln; Dana Falter, Lincoln; and Laura Jana, Omaha. In addition, two members were elected to leadership positions. Margaret Hornady-David, Grand Island,  was elected chair, and Carol Russell, Omaha, was elected vice chair.

They were elected at the Foundations’ summer meeting June 21.

Baxter is senior vice president, risk management, and secretary for First National Bank Omaha. He represents the foundations’ east district. Born in England, Baxter attended Malver College; Hull University; the College of Law, Chester; and the School of Law at Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tenn. Prior to moving to the United States in 1987, he was an attorney in Birmingham, England. Baxter also serves on the board of the Strategic Air and Space Museum in Ashland.

Buntain Comineis director of special projects at the University of Nebraska Foundation and an arts advocate. Buntain Comine is on the boards of the Friends of the Mary Riepma Ross Media Arts Center, the Nebraska Repertory Theatre, the Lied Center for Performing Arts, MEDICI Arts, Friends of Opera and the Sheldon Museum of Art. She represents the NET Foundations’ southeast district.

Falter is executive vice president-lending, at Union Bank and Trust Co. Falter has been in the banking industry since 1985 and joined Union Bank in 2005. Falter holds a degree in Business Administration from the University of Nebraska at Kearney and is a graduate of the School of Banking at Colorado. He has interests in a local business in Lincoln and an agriculture-related business in Greater Nebraska.He represents the NET Foundations’ southeast district.

Jana is a pediatrician, health communicator and author. A consultant to Dr. Benjamin Spock, she founded the Dr. Spock Co. in 1999 and later her own business, Practical Parent Consulting. She focuses on credible, practical parenting advice for new and expectant parents and promotes healthy lifestyles for children. Jana serves as a media spokesperson for the American Academy of Pediatrics; is on the advisory board for American Baby magazine, The Walt Disney Internet Group and Nancy Snyderman’s BeWell Expert Network; and is a consultant for academic organizations, nonprofits and corporations. She represents the NET Foundations’ east district.

Hornady-David joined the board in 2005 and has served as vice chair. Retired from Hornady Manufacturing, Hornady-David previously served on the Grand Island city council and later as mayor.

Russell, who has a master’s degree in pathology and led several cancer research projects, is a dedicated super-volunteer whose list of affiliations is long. More than just a member, she involves herself in all facets of charitable operations, from fund raising to board recruitment.

The NET Foundation for Radio and the NET Foundation for Television are the statewide nonprofit 501(c)(3) citizen support organizations chartered to assist the Nebraska Educational Telecommunications Commission establish and operate NET Radio and NET Television, Nebraska’s statewide public media network. The NET Foundation Board of Directors meets three times annually to discuss various topics related to the NET Foundation for Television and the NET Foundation for Radio. The Board of Director membership includes community representatives from throughout Nebraska. The board’s standing committees include Executive, Board Development, Finance, Special Events/Fund Development and Membership.


NET Television and NET Radio are services of NET.  For a complete television schedule, visit, and for NET Radio programs, visit



CONTACT: Jennifer Herstein, NET Director of Development, 800-634-6788, or

RELEASE WRITTEN BY: Kim Hachiya, 402-470-6694, or

NET Radio:

NET Radio is a service of NET that broadcasts on the following frequencies: Alliance/91.1 FM; Bassett/90.3 FM; Chadron/91.9 FM; Columbus/90.3 FM; Culbertson/92.7 FM; Falls City/91.7 FM; Harrison/89.5 FM; Hastings/Grand Island/89.1 FM; Lexington/88.7 FM; Lincoln/91.1 FM; Max/93.3 FM; Merriman/91.5 FM; Norfolk/89.3 FM; and North Platte/91.7 FM.

NET Television:

NET1is Nebraska's first public television broadcast service and includes PBS and award-winning, locally produced public television programming; NET2 World offers live coverage of the Nebraska Unicameral, and other news and public affairs programming; NET3 Create features the most popular how-to, travel and lifestyle series; and NET-HD presents high-definition digital broadcast programming displayed in a wide-screen format.