NET Spreads Holiday Cheer with Festive Television, Radio Programs

News Release Date: 
November 12, 2018

NET Spreads Holiday Cheer with Festive Television, Radio Programs

NET, Nebraska’s PBS and NPR Stations, is offering a festive lineup of television and radio programming to brighten this holiday season. Beginning Nov. 26, here are the station’s top selections of musical performances, dramas and children’s show specials for viewers and listeners to enjoy.

Radio Holiday Programming

The Verge: Hanukkah Special7 p.m. CT, Sunday, Dec. 2 

Hanukkah Lights 2018features Hanukkah stories by NPR’s Susan Stamberg and Murray Horwitz – 7 p.m. CT, Tuesday, Dec. 4 

Nebraska Concerts: Abendmusik’s ‘Savior of Nations’1 p.m. CT, Sunday, Dec. 9

Jazz Currents with Tom Ineck: Voices of Christmas, 7 p.m. CT, Saturday, Dec. 15

The Big Tiny Desk Holiday Special, includes performances by Sharon Jones and The Dap-Kings, Steve Martin, Hanson, and The Polyphonic Spree – 7 p.m. CT, Friday, Dec. 21

Friday Live: Christmas and Solstice, storytelling, poetry, and music from Nebraska – 9 a.m. Friday, Dec. 21

Christmas with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, 11 a.m. CT, Monday, Dec. 24 and 3 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 25 Mormon Tabernacle ChoirChristmas with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir

St. Olaf Christmas Special, 8 p.m. CT, Sunday, Dec. 24

Tchaikovsky’s Nutcracker Suite, 12 p.m. CT, Tuesday, Dec. 25

Chanticleer Christmas, performance of music from around the globe, featuring new arrangements of classic carols – 2 p.m. CT, Tuesday, Dec. 25

New Year’s Day from Vienna 2019, NPR presents the Vienna Philharmonic in its annual New Year’s Day concert, featuring waltzes, polkas, and more – 10 a.m. CT, Tuesday, Jan. 1

PBS KIDS Holiday Programming

Let’s Go Luna!: Luna’s Christmas Around the World, 9 a.m. and 3 p.m. CT, Monday, Dec. 10; 8:30 a.m. and 2:30 Let's Go LunaLet's Go Luna p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 12; 9 a.m. and 3 p.m. Friday, Dec. 14, Thursday, Dec. 20, Monday, Dec. 24 and Tuesday, Dec. 25 

Peg + Cat + Holidays11 a.m. CT, Monday, Dec. 10; 6 a.m. Thursday, Dec. 13; 11 a.m. Friday, Dec. 14, Monday, Dec. 24 and Tuesday, Dec. 25

Wild Kratts: A Creature Christmas7 a.m. and 5 p.m. CT, Monday, Dec. 10; 3:30 p.m. Wednesday, Dec. 12; 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. Friday, December 14; 7:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 18; 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday, Dec. 24 and Tuesday, Dec. 25

Curious George: A Very Monkey Christmas, 8 a.m. and 2 p.m. CT, Monday, Dec. 10; 7:30 a.m. Wednesday, Dec. 12; 8 a.m. and 2 p.m. Friday, Dec. 14; 8:30 a.m. Wednesday, Dec. 19; 8 a.m. and 2 p.m. Monday, Dec. 24 and Tuesday, Dec. 25

Arthur’s Perfect Christmas, 6 a.m. and 4 p.m. CT, Monday, Dec. 10; 7 a.m. Tuesday, Dec. 11; 6 a.m. and 4 p.m. Friday, Dec. 14; 6:30 a.m. and 5 p.m. Friday, Dec. 21; 6 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday, Dec. 24 and Tuesday, Dec. 25

Television Holiday Programming

Carpenters: Christmas Memories, 11:30 p.m. CT, Monday, Nov. 26

Hanukkah: A Festival of Delights, 2 p.m. CT, Sunday, Dec. 2 HannukkahHanukkah: A Festival of Delights

European Christmas Markets, 10:30 p.m. CT, Friday, Dec. 14; 5:30 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 16; 4:30 p.m. Saturday, Dec. 22

Christmas on the Danube, 4:30 p.m. CT, Saturday, Dec. 15; 10:30 p.m. Dec. 25

Casting Call to Curtain Call, 10 p.m. CT, Saturday, Dec. 15 and 8 p.m. Monday, Dec. 24

Happy Holidays with the Boston Pops10 p.m. CT, Sunday, Dec. 16 and 7 p.m. Thursday, Dec. 20

Christmas with the Mormon Tabernacle Choir, featuring Sutton Foster and Hugh Bonneville – 8 p.m. CT, Monday, Dec. 17 and 9:30 p.m. Tuesday, Dec. 25

Making a New American Nutcracker, 9 p.m. CT, Thursday, Dec. 20

Jordan Smith ‘Tis The Season, 9 p.m. CT, Monday, Dec. 24

Call the Midwife Holiday Special, 8 p.m. CT, Tuesday, Dec. 25 and 1:30 p.m. Sunday, Dec. 30

Live from Lincoln Center: New York Philharmonic New Year’s Eve with Renée Fleming, 8 p.m. CT, Monday, Dec. 31

For a complete listing of all NET programming, visit netNebraska.org/schedules.

 

Happy Holidays!