Lost Writers is a production of NET Radio and the Center for Great Plains Studies’ Plains Humanities Alliance.

Wendy Katz, Project Director and Editor

Nancy Finken, NET Radio Network Manager, Executive Producer

Claire Harlan-Orsi, Writer

Timothy Schaffert, Writer

Scott Leigh, NET Interactive Media Producer 

Robyn Murray, Radio Producer

Laura Williams, NET Interactive Web Producer 

Chet Kincaid, NET Senior Producer, Interactive Educational Media


Tom Floyd

Scott Beachler


Mary Jane Winquest

Katie Nieland


Jeff Smith

James Duchesneau

Werner Althaus

Andy Bigham

Emily Kreutz


Ralph Hammack

Ian Edgington

David Barry

Dan Smith

Ray Meints

John Beck


Pat Richmond

Jann Howard


Omowale Akintunde

Daniel Clausen

Lindsey Cook

Bob Esquivel

Ronda Esquivel

Matt Landis

Melissa Lewis

Otis XII

Genevieve Randall


Richard Breaux

Lauren Cardon

Parks Coble

Kwame Dawes

Rick Edwards

Ted Kooser

Craig Lewis

Christine Pappas

Bill Pratt

Randy Roberts

David Wishart

Special thanks

Prairie Schooner

East Central University

KRPS Public Radio, Kansas

Wisconsin Public Radio

Alabama Public Radio

UNO Television

Daily Nebraskan

Gail Beil, Historian

Robert Eisele, screenwriter (The Great Debaters)

Tripp County Historical Society, South Dakota (Mary Marson)

Archives & Special Collections, University of Nebraska-Lincoln Libraries.

Donald C. Pierson Papers, University of Iowa Libraries, Iowa City, Iowa

Special Collections/University Archives, Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa 

Jane Pope Geske Heritage Room of Nebraska Authors, Lincoln City Libraries, Lincoln, Nebraska.

Archives and Special Collections, University Libraries, University of South Dakota.

South Dakota State Historical Society

Minnesota Historical Society

Pittsburg State University, Leonard H. Axe Library, Special Collections

Atlantic Monthly

Western American Literature

In appreciation to the family members of our “lost writers”

Wanda Barbee

John Gilman

Loretta Krause

Marlene Krause

Jim Lerner

Dr. Bertram A. Lewis, Jr.

Malcolm Lewis

Sidney Lewis Mathew

Franceda Veal

We are deeply grateful to the following organizations and individuals, who have all contributed to the development of Lost Writers of the Plains.

Cooper Foundation

Baer Foundation

Woods Charitable Fund

Loretta Krause

National Endowment for the Humanities and the NET Foundation for Television and Radio


Please contact us at:

Center for Great Plains Studies/Plains Humanities Alliance

1155 Q Street

Lincoln NE 68588-0214 402-472-0602